Oh Nuts

My day revolved around nuts….not the nice ones (mmm walnuts).  I mean horse nuts (testicles for a bit of technicality).  You see I had to remove some nuts from a horse today but he is what is called a cryptorchid so his testicles did not descend properly and hang down like they are supposed to.  It means I had to do surgery to fish them out!  I had never done one of these procedures without the help of a surgeon and a nice hospital environment.  So I was nervous!  I was stressing all day and acting a bit out of it but I just kept telling myself to get a grip!  On with the surgery.

Spoiler Alert…There is blood in these photos.

First Cut

I started and felt pretty good…then I had some trouble finding the lost nut!  It turned out that is was the worst case scenario and located in the abdomen (very deep near internal organs).  I made an additional incision and reached in with my hand to grab it….phew!

found it!

If you look closely I have the testicle in my left hand above.

Happy!

Cheek to Cheek

All done and what a relief….I was grinning.  Thanks to Katie for taking all the lovely photos during surgery. Now off for a winter walk with Salty and its Al’s turn to cook dinner tonight.  I wonder what he will make?  Happy Days!

 

 

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Vet Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Nuts

  1. Liz says:

    You have the most interesting job. Note I said interesting . . . today I wouldn’t class it as best 🙂 Congrats to Katie for not shying away from the lens!

Leave a Reply

