The Quiet Season

In Australia right now for us horse vets it is the ‘quiet season’.  Basically the time of year that horses aren’t giving birth to new babies.  The quiet season is great.  I get to sleep, often for the whole night!  I have time to go grocery shopping and clean my house and even go to yoga class.

I don’t know if you remember but yesterday I said it was going to be a good day.  This was the optimistic time in the morning with coffee in hand, before the madness started.  Turns out yesterday was one of the busiest days I have had in a long time.  I had a second set of nuts to remove on another horse and…you guessed it…another retained nut! Ugh! So another long surgery in the field but I was less nervous about this one so luckily it went well.  Then we had a sick mare and four weanlings with injuries and another two lame mares and three bandages to change!  I also had to drive into the clinic in town to drop off all my surgical gear to be sterilised by the nurses and write three vet reports. Phew!  Somewhere in the madness I found 20 minutes for lunch and I needed a serious boost so I made a yummy power juice!

Pink Power Juice

  • 1 apple
  • 1/2 medium sized beet
  • 3-4 carrots
  • a small piece of ginger (more if you like it zingy!)
  1. chuck them all into a juicer
  2. give it a stir and chug!

Juice is a great way to get lots of veggies and a bit of fluid into you in a hurry!

So pretty out of the juicer!

Juice Rainbow!

And what a colour….yum!  I managed to get through the rest of the day and I was in bed by 10pm.  I am dreaming of a quiet day tomorrow!

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Food, Vet Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

