Just another day at the office

Last week was pretty busy.  We have more foals on the ground despite the frosty temperatures.  I thought I would share some of the cases I have seen over the last week. First of all look at this cutie!

This is one of my favourite mare’s, she is being treated for sore feet and she is due to foal any day.  The farrier came to have a look at her and replace her special shoes.  They are a specific design to make her more comfortable and are filled with gel to support the sole….like my Asics!

Farrier at work

special gel going in

This is another on-going case.  This skinny yearling has a gastro-intestinal disease and we are trying our best to fatten him up a bit.  This is him on a horse scale being weighed.

This is a horse mani-pedi.  Well not really!  This mare has a foot abscess and we are soaking her foot to try keep infection out and make her more comfortable.

The final thing is one of my favourites.  Stitches!  This yearling was clearly watching too much Olympic show jumping and decided to have a go.  He leapt over a fence and got caught, tearing a sizeable whole in the skin just above his knee.  Luckily he was found right away and I was able to stitch it back up.  In fact for a young horse he was very well behaved!

me stitching

All Done! The stitches are very hard to see because the suture is dark blue

It was a bit of a frustrating week but I think my dog walks at the end of each day kept me sane….who wouldn’t feel relaxed in this setting?!!

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Vet Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just another day at the office

  1. Liz says:

    Love that last photo – gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

