Recovery Time

The City2Surf is the longest race I have run.  And this year I really pushed myself hard. That means I need to let my body recover post-race.  And let me tell ya….I am sore!

As soon as I got home Sunday night I jumped into a warm tub with lots of epsom salts.  I used to always put about 2 tablespoons of salts in my bath until I started having remedial massage.  My massage dude said I needed at least 2 cups!!!  I realize that is A LOT but I really do think it makes a difference.  A little secret I found is that you can buy epsom salts in bulk from farm stores.  They are often added to dairy cattle feed so if you are near a rural feed supply store go in and ask for a kilo or two.  The total cost….about 2 dollars!  Put them into a nice container and add a drop of two of your favourite essential oil to make them fancy if you wish. After the epsom salt bath I rubbed tiger balm into my calves and onto my knees.  Love that burny hot/cold feeling!

Monday morning I got up very stiff and sore so I went for  a slow 1 mile run to get the blood moving.  I had a really good stretch after, focusing on my IT bands (outside of the knee) and piliformis muscles (butt) which I seem to injure very easily.  Then tiger balmed again.

Eating well is also important to my recovery.  I wanted to make a smoothie and some fresh juice on monday and I needed my coffee too.  I looked down to realize I was drinking all three at once haha, talk about liquid breakfast!

Silky Smoothie

  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 cup milk of your choice (I used almond)
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seed

Recovery Juice

  • 5-6 large carrots
  • small piece of ginger
  • 1 ruby red grapefruit (I squeeze the juice rather than put it through the juicer)

Tuesday Night I went to a new to me yoga class which was more of a workout than I bargained for.  The instructor incorporates a lot of pilates as well so my arms and core got a serious workout!  I will be back for sure.  I felt great afterwards.  Tomorrow I am planning a short run and more epsom salts.  I am feeling much better already.

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Food, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recovery Time

  1. Liz says:

    Ahhh – I need to stretch more! And use my foam roller – do you have one of those? They bring refreshment to the phrase, ‘hurts so good’! 🙂

  2. Haha no don’t have one. Perhaps I need to invest!

  3. wendy storey says:

    AAHHHH!! sounds like fun………uh, NOT!.. better you’n’me…smoothies sounds inner-estin’ tho

Leave a Reply

