Birthday indeed

Sunday was my birthday. I woke up to a very cute note and a house decorated with balloons!

Unfortunately I was on-call and it all went downhill from there.  You see I think the mares heard it was my birthday and all of them wanted their babies to be born the same day (can you blame them really?).  We had FOUR daytime foalings.  So it was indeed a day of births!  Since the foals were born in the light of day I was able to take lots of pics of the stages of foaling.

Step 1:  The mare breaks water and a white sac (the amnion) appears at the vulva

Step 2:  Checking the position of the foal to make sure it is coming out legs and head first.

Step 3: The foal is in the right position!

Step 4:  You can see the little nose coming out!  We just hang back and wait for the mare to push on her own.

Step 5: The shoulders are out.  After this point the foal usually comes out with ease.

Step 6: Just born! The foal is still covered in the amniotic sac.

Step 7: The umbilical cord still attached.  It detaches on its own and should not need to be cut.

Step 8: Once the cord is detached the foal gets a bit of a dry-off with a towel and the umbilicus is sprayed with iodine to prevent infection.

Step 9:  This is what you look like after assisting a foaling!  Looking good Amanda!

And that’s what a foaling looks like!  Almost every foal born on Sunday had an issue of some kind which meant lots of extra work for everyone.   I also had a bunch of other sickies to look after so it was a long busy day.   I eventually got to opening a few gifts at about 7pm.  Al got my fave lemon tart made for me so that made my evening pretty great. Yummy!

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Vet Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birthday indeed

  1. Liz says:

    My brother is the coolest. The end. 🙂

  2. Sammie says:

    Hey, where’s my lovely morning greeting message!? hahaha

  3. Francis says:

    How appropriate on a BIRTHday. The lemon tart sure looks good.
    Great seeing the pictures
    Love You
    dad

Leave a Reply

