Mango Madness

Hello my name is Dani and I’m addicted to mangoes….

Its mango season in Australia! Woo Hoo!  Mangoes are my most favourite fruit, they are so sweet and silky and versatile in a lot of recipes.

IMG_7375

Since I love them ever so much, I bought a few.  Ok so I bought about 25.  Overboard you say?  Never!

IMG_7390

Mangoes are great to freeze. Once frozen you can keep them for 6 months and use them in smoothies or thaw them out to eat or put in fruit salad or salsa.

Apparently you can freeze them whole which I have never tried.  I chop mine up and freeze them in a ziplock for easy eating access! Make sure you spread them out on a cookie sheet to freeze before breaking them up and putting them into a bag.  If you drop them straight into a ziplock they will freeze in a big ball that you can’t get apart (trust me!).

easy way to chop them up

easy way to chop them up

ready for the freezer

ready for the freezer

What to do with all this frozen mango you say?  How about a smoothie.  I call it the magical mango smoothie because it is the best smoothie you will ever taste!

IMG_7401

Magical Mango Smoothie

  • 1 cup almond or soy milk ( I use bonsoy)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango chunks (a few extra if you like it really thick)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp ground flax
  • 1 tbsp vanilla protein powder (optional)

IMG_7397

If you have some leftover mango pits with a bit of flesh left on them I use them to make my own mango ice tea.  Brew a pot of strong regular or green tea, add a bit of honey or agave nectar for some sweetness and drop in 1 or two mango pits.  Chill in the fridge overnight and serve on ice, yum!  More mango recipes soon….well if I don’t eat them all before they make it into the recipes!

IMG_7393

 

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mango Madness

  1. I love mangoes too! The last time I had mangoes, I blitzed them with yoghurt to make mango frozen yoghurt. Really great for the kind of weather we’re having at the moment 🙂

  2. Jody says:

    Oh now I’m hungry! Lucky you, living in a place that grows its own mangoes!

Leave a Reply

