Valentines Day

Its Valentines Day!!!

Al's valentines Breakfast

Al’s valentines Breakfast

I have always loved this day.  When I was little my Mum used to make a Valentines breakfast and usually decorate the table with sweets and toys.  I suppose she is to blame for my high standards when it comes to V-day!

Despite the commercial-ness of the whole thing, I think it is more about celebrating love.  Love with your partner, family, friends, pets, your bottle of Moet (hey I’m not here to judge!).  I think it is important to remember that love can be found in many places and we should celebrate that!Foal Love

Speaking of love…..whats not to love about ice cream for breakfast!?  Well not real ice cream but a super thick smoothie that I promise tastes just as good.Smoothie Ice Cream

Breakfast Smoothie Ice Cream

  • 1 large frozen banana
  • about 10 small frozen strawberries
  • 1 cup soy milk (or other milk, I used bonsoy)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  1. put all the ingredients into a bowl or large measuring cup and blend until very smooth.
  2. the secret to getting the ice cream like texture is the ratio of frozen fruit to milk so if yours is a bit runny add some extra banana or strawberries to thicken it up.

Happy Valentines Day everyone!!!!

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Food, Vet Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valentines Day

  1. caron says:

    Yum…looks LOVEly! Hugs to you both. Mom xoxo

  2. Liz says:

    Have I mentioned how cool my brother is? 🙂 I am going to try this ice cream – looks yummy. I bet it would be good with some cacao nibs for chocolate crunch!

Leave a Reply

