Rainbows and Lollipops

I think a lot of runners and perhaps even running blogs, paint a bit of a picture that running is easy and super fun.  Rainbow

I was reading through some old posts and I wanted to make very clear……running is NOT easy!  It’s not all rainbows and lollipops as many make you believe.  The thing with running is, the better you get, the harder you push yourself; so it never gets easier….NEVER! Don’t get me wrong I still like it but some days I need a little something to get me to lace up my Asics.

The Worst Bits:

  • starting to run again after a long absence
  • getting out of my warm bed
  • seeing a hill looming in the distance
  • feeling like you can’t go on after the first 2 minutes of a run
  • the voice in your head that says ‘you don’t have to run today, go to sleep!’
  • getting halfway up a hill and wanting to die

Sunrise

The Best Bits:

  • Salty’s excited face when he sees my running shoes
  • the halfway point turn around when your heading home
  • watching the sunrise
  • the jingle of Gunther the Garmin when I have completed my run
  • finishing races
  • wearing medals
  • buying new running shoes
  • gulping water at the end of a run
  • feeling sore as I lie in bed at night and falling asleep from exhaustion

drinky

Sometimes a girl just needs remiding of why running is great…..just keep going and shut up, its only a freaking hill! Even the best runners have to have days where they sleep in, skip running and eat multiple chocolate chip cookies for breakfast….right? No?  Happy running friends 🙂

post run

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainbows and Lollipops

  1. Sammie says:

    I love running! I just go in the afternoon, none of that getting out if warm bed business and all is well! Haha!

  2. Chris says:

    Great post Dani!!

Leave a Reply

