“Lazy” Sunday

This weekend I felt like I had a really relaxing and lazy sunday.  On monday I realized how much I had packed into one day……don’t you just love the weekend?!  Nothing feels like work.

So here is what I did…

I went for a 10k run with Salty and retired my old shoes. I mean’t to take a photo of the new ones (pink and grey) before they got covered in mud..ooopsasics

I drank some green tea…ok I dank a lot of green tea because I was cold.  Whole pot to myself?  Don’t mind if I do!green tea

I cleaned the house and found an unexpected guest.  A dried out frog.  Yes I screamed…ew.frog

I made a yummy lunch.  And I tried out avocado hummus for the first time.  Its a basic hummus recipe with some avocado added and some cilantro and lime.  The avocado makes it extra creamy….sooo yum!avocado hummus

lunch

I tried out a new product.  Freeze dried coconut water.  I love coconut water, its one of my faves.  I ordered this online from a healthfood store and I wasn’t sure what to expect.coconut water

It dissolves really easily and does not dissapoint.  Yummy flavour and very refreshing.  Damn it why must I become addicted to such expensive things….sigh!

I found a hilarious tomato in the garden.  Well he thinks i’m hilarious.tomato

Finally, I made some apple chips.Apple Chips

These are soooooooo amazing.  I used a mandolin slicer but you can also use a knife and cut very thin.

mandolin

apple slice

apple chips

Spread them out on parchment on a baking sheet and bake at 150C (300F) for about 2 hours.  Mine were so thin that I overlapped them a bit and they stuck together…amature move!  But it did make a beautiful apple stain glass window.apple chips

I put a sprinkle of cinnamon on one sheet and left the other plain.  Do not be tempted to add sugar they do not need it.  Super sweet, crispy and satisfying.  Yes I ate them all….ok actually I saved some for Al to try and then he had two and I ate the rest.  They are just too good.

I’d say that is a pretty successful Sunday!

About healthyasahorsevet

I am a horse vet writing about life, food and my quest for health.
This entry was posted in Food, Vet Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Lazy” Sunday

  1. Liz says:

    Please don’t let Alastair start a collection of mummified frogs! 🙂 Definitely want to try that hummus recipe!!

  2. caron tindale says:

    I found a dried frog once too! Must be a genetic talent! Great looking food, maybe I’ll get to try some over there if I’m not too woozy after looking at horse guts! That tomato was adorable!

Leave a Reply

